Any Philosophers here??

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by TruthSeeker, Dec 22, 2002.

1. TruthSeeker Fancy Virtual Reality Monkey Valued Senior Member

Are there any philosophers here in sciforums?

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

What I mean by philosophers is professional ones, that studied philosophy at university...

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. kaduseus melencolia I Registered Senior Member

What a deep question....

Would a real philosopher ever take a philosophy degree at university?

I studied logic and scientific method at uni, but I think your wanting more of a history of philosophy rather than method of thought.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Hoth Registered Senior Member

Uh, most of them do... in fact most of the better known philosophers teach philosophy at universities. In fact I can't think of any famous philosophers who didn't have a doctorate in philosophy.

But I really doubt any of them are here. I'm sure there are people here who've been philosophy majors at their universities (myself, for example), but it's unlikely that anyone here is published.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Merlijn curious cat Registered Senior Member

No I did not study philsophy at university. I studied cognitive psychology, and had philosophy of mind and cognition as a main topic.

Hoth,
    "In fact I can't think of any famous philosophers who didn't have a doctorate in philosophy. " I take it you mean 'no philosopher of the last 150 years'.

8. TruthSeeker Fancy Virtual Reality Monkey Valued Senior Member

kaduseus,

Actually, I want a method of thought...

The reason I ask that, is because I would like to study philosophy somewhere, but I don't know how good or bad the earning for a philosopher is. Besides that, I would like to have my own philosophy, besides agreeing with an existing one.

Maybe Hoth can answer my questions...?