2016 Kavli Prize:


Valued Senior Member

2016 Kavli Prizes Awarded for Gravitational Wave Detection and Nanoscale Microscopy
The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announced the winners of its 2016 Kavli prizes in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience. Ronald Drever and Kip Thorne of Caltech, and Rainer Weiss of MIT won the astrophysics prize for the direct detection of gravitational waves by the LIGO collaboration last year and waspublished in PRL.

The nanoscience prize was awarded to Gerd Binnig (Definiens Inc.), Christoph Gerber (University of Basel), and Calvin Quate (Stanford University) for their development of atomic-force microscopy, which allows imaging of surfaces at a scale of nanometers. The seminal “Atomic Force Microscope” paper was published in PRL and a recently published collection commemorates the 30th anniversary of atomic force microscopy.