wearable cooling

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by acr[]mion, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr[]mion Registered Member

I'm currently working on my final design project at uni -designing a wearable cooling device for very humid conditions (e.g crowded rock concert), which would be worn on the wrist. I'm proposing to use an umbilical system, which means (from what I ..umm.. researched) that i need a reservoir, pump, cooling
    device, heat sink, power source... From what I understand, the
    temperature of the device needs to be kept above the dew point to
    minimise condensation. My challenge is to somehow fit all that
    inside a wrist band/cuff and to use a motor (Wellington Motors - they are special) somewhere in the device. The other option that i have is using a
    series of inbuilt Sunon mini-fans (8mm square). Being a design student, I have a very limited knowledge of the issues involved. And since my
    understanding of practical issues regarding physics is severely
    underdeveloped, I was wondering if anyone could provide me with some
    advice.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Athelwulf Rest in peace Kurt... Registered Senior Member

This is something ya wear to cool down when it's humid?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. acr[]mion Registered Member

Well, the scope of the project is a wearable cooling device for the people in a 'mosh pit'. Mosh pit conditions are not only extremely hot, but incredibly humid, due to a huge number of people crammed in a small space, so i can't use an evaporative system.... ....hmmm....

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Athelwulf Rest in peace Kurt... Registered Senior Member