The Bhagavad-Gita and Ethics

Discussion in 'Eastern Philosophy' started by Prince_James, Aug 21, 2005.

1. Prince_James Plutarch (Mickey's Dog) Registered Senior Member

Krishna urges Arjuna to do his duty because it is the work of a warrior a just war is something he should delight in being a part of. Does this mean that Krishna is basically saying that morality is subjective? That it is moral for a warrior to fight because he takes pride in fighting, desires to fight, and Arjuna ought to also fight because it is in a just war, and thus the highest thing a warrior can aspire to? Or does Hinduism assert a duty-based morality or even something entirely else?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. water the sea Registered Senior Member

I'm not an expert, but read for yourself, from http://vedabase.net/bg/:

BG 2.38: Do thou fight for the sake of fighting, without considering happiness or distress, loss or gain, victory or defeat — and by so doing you shall never incur sin.

BG 2.47: You have a right to perform your prescribed duty, but you are not entitled to the fruits of action. Never consider yourself the cause of the results of your activities, and never be attached to not doing your duty.

BG 2.48: Perform your duty equipoised, O Arjuna, abandoning all attachment to success or failure. Such equanimity is called yoga.

BG 3.8: Perform your prescribed duty, for action is better than inaction. A man cannot even maintain his physical body without work.

This site has a search engine, look up duty: http://www.asitis.com/

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Prince_James Plutarch (Mickey's Dog) Registered Senior Member

Many thanks for posting some pertinent verses of the scripture, it always helps to have it right infront of oneself, even if I have read it before.