Questions about microscopic life

Discussion in 'Biology & Genetics' started by Stephanoceros, Jan 8, 2010.

1. Stephanoceros Registered Member

Hello!
    First of all, I am nothing short of a complete novice when it comes to the subject of microscopic life. I only recently took it upon myself to learn everything I can about the subject, and in the natural course of my research a number of questions have popped up. I appeal to the knowledge and experience of other people visiting this forum to help me clear up some confusion that I have about a few things. Any effort to accomplish this will be greatly appreciated.
    In researching Cyanobacteria, I keep reading about it existing in unicellular forms and colonial/ filamentous forms. Take Oscillatoria for example- in all of the images I see of it, it is a single green strand, usually clumped together with other green strands. What I"m wondering is if each strand is a single individual, or if the rectangular cells that make up the strand are themselves individual organisms making up a colonial strand. I guess I'm hazy on what constitutes an individual in this sense. Or with Nostoc, there are the grape-looking colonies, and inside are the beaded string filaments. Are each of the beads a separate organism, or is the string as a whole just one living thing? The lines seem to be blurred when it comes to free-living individuals and colonies.
    I recently encountered the same confusion with Fungi. Since all the text I read referred to fungi as colonies, I assumed that each hypha is a separate individual, and they all link and work together as a colony. I now understand that it's an isolated mycelium which constitutes a single fungal organism, with the mushrooms being its various appendages for reproduction (I HOPE I'm correct by assuming this). So why is the term 'colony' applied to fungi?
    Again, I thank you for bearing with me and can't wait to hear your responses!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement