Nitrogen fluoride ?

Discussion in 'Chemistry' started by Dinosaur, Apr 21, 2013.

1. Dinosaur Rational Skeptic Valued Senior Member

Is nitrogen fluoride a dangerous explosive?

The Bombing incident at the Boston Marathon reminded me of my teenage experiments with explosives.

I made nitrocellulose (gun cotton) & black gunpowder. I could have made nitroglycerin or nitrogen chloride, but considered them too volatile & dangerous. I never considered TNT, perhaps because it is more difficult to make, but do not actually remember why not.

Nitrogen chloride is a really nasty explosive: Direct sunlight will cause it to detonate.

I just looked up nitrogen fluoride & it does not seem to be a serious explosive. I thought that fluorides were more active than chlorides, but I studied chemistry circa 65 years ago & could be wrong on this.

BTW: I was partially responsible for the death of one of my classmates. A mutual friend described my experiments with explosives. My classmate made a pipe bomb & tried to tamp the black gunpowder with a metal rod. A spark caused ignition & the rod was embedded in his stomach.

I felt guilty for many years until a friend of mine mentioned the Darwin awards, which helped a bit & made me think that my classmate might have sooner or later done himself in anyway.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. arauca Banned Banned

I believe the electronegativity of fluorine is higher then of nitrogen therefore it will be a more stable compound as other halogen are closer to nitrogen that will make chlorine less stables

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. exchemist Valued Senior Member