First scope for a newbie...

Discussion in 'Astronomy, Exobiology, & Cosmology' started by coevolute, Jul 24, 2000.

1. coevolute Registered Member

Hi everyone, I'm a beginning budding astronomy hobbyist in North America. It's such a great, educational hobby. Astronomy and ST are my favourite magainzes. As I dig deeper, I find conflicting stories about which telescope is right for a beginner. A Dobsonian is what I think most suitable and affordable, but I can't imagine how troublesome it would be to put a 6" or 8" Dob in the trunk and drive to the country. If only there's something with the best of both worlds: Dob's light gathering ability and short refractor's portability. Every night I get out I enjoy viewing the skies with naked eyes and a DIY red-LED flashlight and the sky maps in the magazines. I would appreciate if someone who has walked the path gives me a pointer or two.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Danis Registered Member

I share your passions and would like to get some info too.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Lenny Registered Senior Member

I really like the Meade EXT Scopes (Wish I could afford one!)

Don't buy a cheep scope! It will just discourage you and end up collecting dust in your closet.

I can't afford a good scope so I get by with binoculars.

------------------
    The sky is not the limit, nor are the stars.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Crisp Gone 4ever Registered Senior Member

Hi Coevolute & Danis,

Well, I can only give you the advice they once gave me: try to borrow one first from a friend or be sure you can test a telescope before actually going out and buying one.