EasyBMP

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Trilobyte, Dec 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trilobyte Registered Senior Member

Ah, it's been a while since i've visited sciforums, but I think this is my first time posting a new topic to Computer Science & Culture. I'm a self-taught newbie with C/C++ programming so bear with me....

I'm wondering if anyone has had any experience with using EasyBMP. The C++ library for inputing and outputing data from bitmap files.

The main website and manual don't offer much detail in the instructions:
    http://easybmp.sourceforge.net/

Basicly I can't get it to work and I don't know where to start. I get the impression it might be impossible to compile it using DevC++ which is what I have at the moment. I might need the GCC compiler (but I'm having trouble even finding a good mirror site that works...)

I tried all of the sample code from the sight and none of it compiles in DevC++. I'm more experienced with C than C++ so I can't tell yet how much of the program needs to be customised to a specific bitmap (they are all written in C++).

I want to get EasyBMP working as it's necessary to make EasyBMPtoAVI work (which as you can guess generates AVI video files from bitmap files: see the same link above).

I haven't gotten round to contacting the guy who wrote it yet (Paul Macklin). I thought I'd try here first. Any help you could offer would be great. Or does anyone know of any other ways to generate AVI video files from a C or C++ program...?

For example at the moment i've been scouring the web to try and find the exact hexadecimal byte layout of the AVI format...I'm assuming I could edit it as a binary file instead of using EasyBMP..? (this method would be more ideal as I would prefer to avoid the copyright situation on EasyBMP).

Cheers :m:

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Xelios We're setting you adrift idiot Registered Senior Member