Circuit Board Manufacturing

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Bowser, Sep 18, 2015.

1. Bowser Namaste Valued Senior Member

I've had the unique opportunity to work as an etcher for a circuit board manufacturer. It's something I've never done before now, even though electronics interest me. What I never realized before now is the amount of work that goes into producing circuit boards, especially the multi layered ones. Also, what was never apparent are the toxic and corrosive chemicals used in the process. Anyway, I think anybody who has an interest in the field of electronics should get their feet wet and give it a try.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. sideshowbob Sorry, wrong number. Valued Senior Member

Whatever you do, don't take it to a school in Texas.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

(Fifty years ago, my brother used to make radios by soldering components to nails in a board. Later on, he made his own printed circuits from a kit, so I know a little bit about the procedure. Unfortunately, my own knowledge of electronics ends at the on/off switch.)

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. danshawen Valued Senior Member

If you just started, you have yet even to scratch the surface. Analog ICs like operational amplifiers will not work unless care is taken to minimize track lengths connected to inputs, by means of placing feedback resistors as close as possible to those IC pins. Doing otherwise will likely result in you building an oscillator where an amplifier was needed. Good luck with that.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Cheezle Hab SoSlI' Quch! Registered Senior Member