Writer seeking Braniacs for answers

Discussion in 'General Science & Technology' started by Nev76, Jun 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nev76 Registered Member

Hi all,

I'm a writer working on a Sci-Fi novel set far in the future. I'm looking for a little insight. In this future world there is no more room on the planet for waste, the only option is to launch it into space. I've been told by a handful of experts that a theoretical possiblity would be launching the garbage into space using an "Anti-Graviton Field" would be the most likely and cost effective way of doing such a thing.

Does this make sence? What would this look like? How would it work?

Is this the right place for asking such a question?

Thanks.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. kazakhan Registered Abuser Registered Senior Member

It doesn't make sense to me. Why not incinerate our waste? We'd also get electricity, I'm sure it could be done in a reasonably environmentally friendly way, just need to filter/extract the toxins.
    Or you could just use your "Anti-Graviton Field" to the same effect couldn't you?(strong varying field would rip everything apart)

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member

Launching stuff into space is an expensive business.

At present, there is no such thing as anti-gravity, so the best we can do is use chemical rockets.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Nev76 Registered Member

Excellent idea. Do you think the waste could be disinigrated without releasing dangerous toxins into an atmosphere on it's last leg?

Would it be possible to incinerate the garbage than use the Anti-Graviton field to release the deadly toxins into space? Or does that not make sence?

8. Nev76 Registered Member

James,

This is in the future. 250 years at least. Do you think we'd have that kind of technology by then?