Why going to the moon may be absoluetly nessecary.

Discussion in 'Business & Economics' started by Undecided, Aug 1, 2004.

1. Undecided Banned Banned

I was watching a movie last night on a science channel here in Canada called Space. In that channel they usually show clippings of science news. Now I like looking at pictures of the galaxies and planets but yesterday I heard something that changed the entire perspective on what the future economy will have to look like. I am no scientist (I can tell you that) so I don’t exactly what this entails, but in order for hydrogen fuel cells to work we need Platinum. The world supply of Platinum is way too low to make a hydrogen economy viable by the looks of it.

A mere 100 million kilos in the whole world, South Africa as usual has the largest reserves of Platinum in the world at 70 million. The expert said that the moon may have enough Platinum to allow for the mass production of hydrogen fueled celled cars. Does this mean I support the US moon program? No, the reason being is that the US cannot afford it, but I do support a multi-national and private enterprise to make the moon viable for exploitation. If we want a better economy for our children and for our environment we need to expend billions to make sure it happens.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. TaoDervish Registered Member

I am skeptical about hydrogen fuel cells really being any kind of solution to our energy problems. Hydrogen isn't available for free like fossil fuels, you have to use energy to make it.