Why do brand names cost more?

Discussion in 'Business & Economics' started by Thoreau, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Thoreau Valued Senior Member

Reading a thread located here got me thinking...

Why are products from major fashion companies like Coach, Armani, etc, so expensive? Is the quality of their products really superior to that of, say, Express, Buckle, or even Wal-Mart?

Is it all just in the name? And if so, why are people stupid enough to pay upwards of 10,000% more for the same quality product that they could purchase at a different store for much cheaper?

Someone please explain the logic behind the fashion industry because I just don't see any.

:shrug:

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. scheherazade Northern Horse Whisperer Valued Senior Member

I work in retail and can perhaps address some aspects of the posed question.

'Brand' names have recognition, established by some aspect of their nature that appeals to the purchaser.

What that aspect may be can be measurable or intangible.

Everyone is using the word 'quality' to define their product of late, yet kindly define the word 'quality' for me.

Do you see my point?

One can measure many properties of a commodity on a variety of scales, yet 'quality' is almost entirely a subjective measurement.

Most customers evaluate an item on how well it may suit them personally, as in how it tastes, fits, looks, how durable or fashionable.

Then there is the subjective matter of 'status', or how a certain purchase makes one 'feel'.

Companies have become expert at 'selling the sizzle', while the customer ends up with only a mediocre steak at best. :bugeye:

Some companies have higher operating costs because they use the best resources available in the making of their product and they pay their workers a decent wage, so it is expected that their products will cost more.