What is the difference between chemistry and organic chemistry?

Discussion in 'Chemistry' started by kitson, Mar 7, 2012.

1. kitson Registered Member

What is the difference between organic chemistry, and normal chemistry?

and do i need to learn normal chemistry first in order to learn organic chemistry?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. origin Heading towards oblivion Valued Senior Member

Organic chemistry is essentially the study of chemistry centered on carbon. The number of chemicals that have carbon in them is amazing.

You definitely need to take general chemistry first.

Typically it would be 1st semester CHE I 2nd semester CHE II and then Organic.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Ken Natton Registered Member

Okay, I am no expert and I am well used to trying to answer questions like this and having the real experts point out the flaws in my explanation with a slightly irritated tone. But so many times I see basic questions like this incompletely or badly answered. Always my justification is that, even if there are flaws in my explanation, once the experts have pointed them up, the result is a fuller and better explanation than existed before.