Understanding: Computer Processors

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by EM_Pulse, Jan 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EM_Pulse Registered Member

Hello, I am a BND ICT student and I would like to build my own computer processor, obviously I'm not talking about building something to rival a P4 but just something that can do small mathmatical calcuations.. a calculator. I would like to do this so I can better understand how computers began and the reason they work as this is part of my computer studies. Unfortunately, I have no idea how to start this kind of project. I do have some electrical experience with small circuits through an Electronics GCSE so I do know the basic components and this means I just need someone to guide me in the right direction of understanding how the logic of the processor works and implimenting it physically/electronicly.

If this is inappropriate to this forum, could you please direct me to one where I may find help?

Thankyou for reading and I await your response eagerly.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2004
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Mr. Chips Banned Banned

You don't need anything electronic. My first computer was a kit I built almost 40 years ago. It was all plastic. You slid tabs and cards into various notches to program a computation then read the result directly. Guess you would call this an analogue computer. I think it was a Hasbro product. You might try searching on the web for "basic computer kit" or something like that.

I've just finished ordering all of the parts to build myself a P4 system. It wont be the extreme edition of the CPU as I find that prohibitively expensive but it will be quite state of the art. BTW, I guess as far as most bench marks go, the Athlon 64 bit processor is beating out even the EE P4.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. EM_Pulse Registered Member

Mr. Chips,