The Physical...

Discussion in 'Eastern Philosophy' started by one_raven, Feb 9, 2008.

1. one_raven God is a Chinese Whisper Valued Senior Member

The following is an email I sent to a Buddhist friend of mine.
    Care to discuss?
    -------------------

I waned to share something I have pondered, meditated on and tried to unravel for countless hours over the years.
    This meditation led me to the main things I disagree with the Buddha about, and eventually my rejection of every religion I have explored so far (and I have been exploring for over twenty years).

Assume that the Buddha is correct and the highest state of being is a state of pure consciousness in a non-corporeal existence, and the plane of existence we occupy right now, ruled over by Mara, is illusory.
    If the above is true, I can only assume that this world exists for a reason.
    If that is the case, what is the point or purpose of this place? Why are we here?
    The way I look at it, to find the purpose, contrast the two and see what is different. What do we have here that we could not have there?
    Two things:
    1 Sensual experience
    2 Mortality/Danger/Excitement/Passion

For the Buddha to deny/reject these things, he is denying the very core of our humanity.

In my view, there are four traits (neuroses, perhaps?) that one must overcome and eventually eliminate to attain a healthy balance, confidence and self-esteem.
    Eliminating these four detriments has been the main focus of my spiritual journey for many years now.
    Fear
    Regret
    Shame
    Insecurity

Every religion I have looked at over the years has not only preyed on, fostered and fed these four detriments (intentionally or otherwise) but they were all borne of them – mainly fear and insecurity. Yes, even Buddhism – though it is my favorite so far and I have gotten more from Siddhartha’s words than anyone else’s.