Stepping Toward the Christian God With A Wallet and a Dollar

Discussion in 'Religion' started by garbonzo, Oct 12, 2014.

1. garbonzo Registered Senior Member

Hi, I think a very compelling case for “why the Christian God” has already been made by many writers.

Here’s one I found quite striking by J. Warner Wallace (bear with me, it’s a long read).

Please discuss:

Stepping Toward God With a Wallet and a Dollar

I’ve been talking to my dad about the existence of God for several years. He describes himself as an agnostic who leans toward atheism, but it’s clear from our discussions he’s as far from theism as anyone could be. He’s also an evidentialist who worked as a police officer and detective for nearly 30 years. We tend to think a lot alike (I was also an atheist detective until the age of 35), and I can relate to his skepticism.

Many years ago, while waiting for my kids to finish a ride at a local water park, we had perhaps our best and most extended conversation on the reasonable nature of Christian theism. Our conversation began as we were talking about the beauty of the universe. Sitting by the edge of a large swimming pool, I began to look for a way to illustrate some of the foundational problems philosophical naturalism has in attempting to describe the nature and origin of life the cosmos. If we had been sitting on the beach, I would have drawn some ideas in the sand, but in the moment, as we were waiting in a crowded amusement park, I tried to think of a quick alternative. I decided to use my wallet to make a case for what I believe as a theist.