Stem Cell issue

Discussion in 'Science & Society' started by atheroy, Feb 7, 2003.

1. atheroy Registered Senior Member

This has surely been a subject before but i thought i'd dredge it up. With the ethic's of the new technologies to do with humans (cloning etc.), i find stem cell technology to be the least offensive. however, it has some serious opposition, but could be VERY beneficial to many people with diseases like parkinsons, not sure the point i'm trying to make but i reckon stem cell technology should not be met with such opposition when the pro's clearly outweigh any of the con's.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. spuriousmonkey Banned Banned

so what do you want to discuss about it?

I'm an enormous expert...I just had an article out with the word 'stem cell' in the title.

edit: It is good to use the term 'stem cell' in your work, since it is still a bit fashionable. Although there are signs that soon 'stem cells' are out and then we have to look for another hot topic.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. bbcboy Recovering christian Registered Senior Member

Stem cell technology could mean the end of many of todays worst human afflictions!

And a lot of fat pay cheques for the physicians who currently treat them.
    There are a myriad of ethical issues but most can be disregarded as stem cells can also be found in the umbilicus as well as the pheotus so all can benefit.

I still think it comes down to money as most issues do
    Call me a cynic but I think many people will agree!

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. pumpkinsaren'torange Registered Senior Member

8. everneo Re-searcher Registered Senior Member

It has more commercial value than cloning. Certainly at initial stage u need a surrogate to grow stem cells.. combined with cloning it is worst ethically and do wonders in medical/pharma. fields.

9. spuriousmonkey Banned Banned