Songwriting - Music or lyrics first?

Discussion in 'Art & Culture' started by nbachris2788, Mar 8, 2005.

1. nbachris2788 Registered Senior Member

I think it's better and easier to write lyrics first before composing the music to accompany it. Music's a lot more flexible than words, as trying to fit phrases and expressions in a predetermined beats can perhaps lead to contrived lyrics and such. But then again, without a musical structure, your lyrics can ramble on, creating unfocused and rambling music in turn. So for all you songwriters out there, do lyrics or music come first when writing a new song?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. duendy Registered Senior Member

i really love improvisation. i am not an accomplished musician, who can read music, or even a natrual who can do all kinds of note making. but i love to get interesting riffs and allow lyrics to come spontaneously As i'm playing
    sometimes the words might not even make sense....you know, mock-other language (have done several you'd swear were French) or weird sounds

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

Words are how we associate sounds with meanings. So it would make sense to write the lyrics first (if you're going to have any,) followed by the music.

But then again .. the Pixies wrote the music first..

Whatever works

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Perfect Masturbation without hands Registered Senior Member

When i took music theory 3/3, they did not ask me if i remember fucking lyrics from the beatles.

THIS is the decay of music. Riff's are not music, lyrics are not music. Playing covers of metallica does not make you an musician.

Also, tampering with dodecaphony does not make you talented.

Imagening singers from bands sitting in 10k/per night hotel rooms doodling lyrics makes me gag.