religion

Discussion in 'General Philosophy' started by lotuseatsvipers, Jul 11, 2002.

1. lotuseatsvipers CloseMindedBob Registered Senior Member

if something is indeed an illusion(see freud on religion), but makes you happy, is there really something inherently wrong with that? 'ignorance is bliss' type of thing perhaps. I've been wondering about this lately.

and hello all, as im a newb around here. 21 EE major at fsu, just thought id drop a high in my first post

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. wet1 Wanderer Registered Senior Member

Welcome to sciforums, lotuseatsvipers. How's the weather in Fla?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Tyler Registered Senior Member

Is there something wrong with it? Morally you mean?

Well, everyone has different morals. I don't think it's wrong, it's just plain stupid and weak. If someone needs an illusion to let them function normally they are a weak human being and no more advanced than the 7 year olds right before they figure out santa isn't real.

Oh, and welcome to sciforums.com

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Cris In search of Immortality Valued Senior Member

Hi Lot,

Welcome to sciforums.

My purpose in life is to be happy. My nature is analytical and I find pleasure in seeking truths. Others who do not have an analytical outlook can be quite happy whether what they are offered is true or not. In this respect if religions make such people happy then no I do not see any harm in that.

However, if there is a greater purpose such as ensuring the survival of the human race and making life more enjoyable or productive then pursuing delusions is unlikely to result in any practical benefit. In this respect religions should be discouraged.