New Way of Raising Children

Discussion in 'Human Science' started by BloodSuckingGerbile, Jul 20, 2003.

1. BloodSuckingGerbile Master of Puppets Registered Senior Member

I've got a slightly controversial idea and I have been thinking about this one for some time...
    Most of the parents I know have raised their children in a loving and cute atmosphere, presenting them with "real life" situations of piggies and bunnies and puppies.
    I'm not an expert in pediatric psychology, in fact, I'm closer to being a child than to being a parent, though I'm equipped and functioning...
    Anyway, what if the parents raised their children in a loving, but a not-so-cute atmosphere. Make their life into a slightly softened military regime. What if the parents don't tell their children about Winnie The Pooh and Santa and the tooth fairy? What if they treat them almost like miniature adults? Maybe even educate them from a very young age? Won't it make the children more intelligent and sharp and closer to reality than ordinary kids?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Closet Philosopher Off to Laurentian University Registered Senior Member

I was raised kind of like the way you explained. When I was little, I watched Unsolved Mysteries and Star Trek with my parents. I had very few stuffed animals and no dolls. I was taught that there is no such thing as santa ot the toothfairy. I was faced with reality from the start of my life, and I am glad that my parents didn't make me suffer from lies. There was only one hitch: I told all the kids in daycare and elementary school that there was no such thing as santa or the toothfairy, and the whole class broke out crying and half of them had to be sent home. Oh well, it gives me a good laugh when I think about that.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. sargentlard Save the whales motherfucker Valued Senior Member