MRI and Welding

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Mickmeister, Jan 28, 2009.

1. Mickmeister Registered Senior Member

I am going in for a functional MRI in two weeks. I find it interesting that they asked me if I worked as a machinist. I told them no, but asked why. They said because if I was and welded, I would be ineligible for the MRI. I just bought a MIG welder three months ago to learn to weld. I have used it so far a max of 1 hour. They said that the danger of inhaling the gasses and deposits of metal in my lungs is what makes it dangerous. I didn't realize that metal fragmentations were in the gasses given off. Luckily, they said that a total of 1 hour of use was not sufficient to stop the fMRI. I will definitely be using a respirator in the future now.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. draqon Banned Banned

wow, thank you for sharing us with this health information. I guess this is sort of like the dangers of mesothelioma.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. leopold Valued Senior Member

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. cosmictraveler Be kind to yourself always. Valued Senior Member

I'd think that with only 3 months of welding and only a few hours of welding you are not in danger. I use to weld with arc welders and they really threw off some sparks and gasses when I was running a bead. They never asked me about my past so I do not think it is that dangerous as you may think.

Mesothelioma is caused by asbestos not metal so it isn't a cause for it when you weld.

8. Orleander OH JOY!!!! Valued Senior Member

It would have to be a certain kind of welding right? Underwater welders wouldn't be part of the group. Plasma welders?

I would think a welder would always wear an mask.
    http://cognews.com/1118353877/

9. cosmictraveler Be kind to yourself always. Valued Senior Member