Matter Making Machine?

Discussion in 'Alternative Theories' started by Swavey, Sep 6, 2013.

1. Swavey Registered Member

Ok I'm no scientist I'm only 15 but I am interested in it. Ok so if the smallest particle is a wave or HiggsBoson(idk) then can it be possible to make a machine that takes a penny and rips it into a bunch of waves and then reforms it into something different? I believe this is very possible. Also isn't dark matter everywhere? So why can't we substitute dark matter for something to hold objects. That sounded crazy idk how to type it in a better way.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. AlphaNumeric Fully ionized Registered Senior Member

Fundamental particles, as least as they are currently understood, have zero size. The Higgs isn't the smallest by size, it is the largest by mass and it requires a lot of energy to make things with high masses. And the Higgs doesn't make up material, it interacts with things which make up materials (ie protons, electrons, neutrons etc) in such a way as to give them inertial mass, else they would all be zero mass particles like the photon.

Rearranging the subatomic structure of materials is possible in principle, the Higgs hasn't had any impact on such a premise nor got us closer to such a device. Particles are not converted into waves by physical processes, subatomic objects have properties with associate with waves and other properties we associate to particles (ie little balls bouncing around), they are not either/or.