is this a correct analogy?

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by god-of-course, Aug 16, 2003.

1. god-of-course Bluegoblin. Registered Senior Member

i know you cant summarise theories like this and that im sure i missed out vital things but does what ive said make sense? im new to physics and i wrote it mainly for my own understanding, i peiced a lot of it together from things people here had said and i know nothing of quantum mechanics so i kind of made up some things, id be very grateful for corrections or if you could just scrap it all and re write it for me

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

thnx

1) If you have a basic understanding of general relativity you've probably come across the 'mesh' description of space-time or the space-continuum, basically one analogy of the nature of space and time is that space is like a huge mesh of fibers travelling in every direction through the three dimensions, and that these fibers are like threads of time. ok?

2) Mass bends these fibers and so stretches this 'fabric' of space and time towards itself, other mass wants to follow these threads i.e. they want to travel towards other mass hence; gravity. The more mass the more space time is distorted.