Identifying Fossils

Discussion in 'Earth Science' started by Star-gazer, Jan 15, 2008.

1. Star-gazer Registered Member

Anyone know of a good web-site where I can have some fossils identified? I've got a good collection of fossils I've picked up over the years, I've tried to identify them myself, but I'm not an expert on identifying fossils. I have taken pics of at least five of them, and whould really love to find out exactly what they are fossils of. I know I have a coral fossil, but what kind of coral? I do know that they are all invertebrate fossils and are marine animals. One rock in particular is very strange, I don't know what it is, or if its anything.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Enmos Valued Senior Member

Could you post the pictures here for us to see ?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Enmos Valued Senior Member

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Star-gazer Registered Member

Thanks for the links. I can, but it may take a while, because I have dial-up. I will post them though.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

8. Enmos Valued Senior Member

Oh hey, I think you need 20 posts before being able to post images.. I forgot about that.

9. Star-gazer Registered Member

The websites are good, I might find what I'm looking for. I will probably post the fossils when I get 20 posts.

10. Enmos Valued Senior Member

Cool, be sure to mention what they are if you have found it already by then

11. matthyaouw Registered Senior Member

12. Star-gazer Registered Member

I posted my fossil pics on that website, I'll let you know if I find out what they are.

13. Star-gazer Registered Member

Okay now that I have 20 post, I can put some of my pics up.

At first I was'nt even sure if this was a fossil, I found it buried halfway on the mudbank of a river. Now I know its Tufa, read more - [ENC]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tufa[/ENC]