Hydroelectric power

Discussion in 'Architecture & Engineering' started by JM123, Jun 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JM123 Registered Senior Member

Ok, I'm not too much of an engineer (or architect), so I may be WAY off on this. I'm planning on installing a hydroelectric generator, but I have encountered a problem. One of the factors involving power generated is "head", which is the vertical distance the water falls to the turbine. However, since I am pumping water a different way, would it be possible to generate power with horizontal moving water? (0 head) I made a diagram, but I'm no artist either, so it's very basic.

i48. tinypic .com/2qc4dag.jpg

So basically, water is pumped from a well, up, into a building, through horizontal tubing, falls into a small pond, then leaves the building. Where should I put the turbine? Thanks.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, I can't post links, so take the spaces out of the link. Sorry about that.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. soullust Registered Senior Member

I can not see your diagram, but put the water where ever the most water flow will be at any giving time.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Dywyddyr Penguinaciously duckalicious. Valued Senior Member

Ever heard of a water mill?
    So you ARE using head.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

Most of the useful energy will come from the vertical fall, so you'd be better off putting it in the fall.
    Otherwise you're going to need very fast flow rates.

Why are you using a pump and then extracting power? You're going to suffer losses. What's wrong with just using the power source for the pump directly?

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. JM123 Registered Senior Member