How did you get started?

Discussion in 'Eastern Philosophy' started by Awake, Jan 26, 2005.

1. Awake Just BE! Registered Senior Member

I wasn't sure how to word the title, but at what age did you first start to question religion?

For me, I have gone to Protestant Churches on and off for most of my childhood. I first started to question things when I was about 8-ish. Although by the time I was a teenager I was fairly brain-washed by the idea of Christianity. I was a fairly devout Christian. I had even thought about becoming a youth minister. But as I matured, I learned more about the politics and b.s. involved in the Church. I started to question everything. With the popularity of the internet, I studied and researched other religions and philosophies. I have read and studied Buddhism, Hinduism, New Age movement, Hari Krishna, Mormons, Jehovah Witness and Catholicism. I have basically looked at the commonality of the beliefs, taken what I feel is truth and discarded the dogma and religiousity.

I was just wondering how others here have gotten to where they are.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. te jen Registered Senior Member

I was raised in a benign neglect of atheism. No indoctrination whatsoever. In my twenties I began considering some of the deeper questions, but had no particular attraction to the Abrahamaic traditions. I think my natural outlook led me towards the eastern philosophies, but I found Hinduism to dogmatic and complex, Buddhism better but still somewhat overwrought in some of its sects. Classical Taoism fits best, while keeping mindful of the best bits of Buddhism and indeed the basic social teachings of Jesus and Mohammed.

So I guess I am a taoist, grown out of an atheistic skepticism.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. duendy Registered Senior Member