Formula 1 Engines

Discussion in 'Architecture & Engineering' started by jayeeyee, Jun 27, 2012.

1. jayeeyee Registered Member

I'm a self-taught mechanic. I love working on cars, especially my own. I love and enjoy understanding the properties on how a everything mechanically operates and the raw power it generates. In a nutshell, I'm very proud of what I learned and can accomplish, maybe I should post this on an automotive forum but I believe that the technology inside a combustion engine is so advance in terms of engineering these days that it deserves it's place in scientific community (I'm not saying that science doesn't have anything to do with the automotive industry, in fact it's all thanks to it).

After I watched this video on YT (youtube.com/watch?v=rp4SV8FGZoo) and even with all my full understand how combustion cycles/strokes works.. my mind could not grasp the level pure 'awesomeness' (no other word for it) that this engine produces. This Honda F1 engine produces 18,000RPM, each piston stroke is traveling 300 times A SECOND!!! In almost the time it requires to blink your eye, the piston has already went up and down 300 times. It still amazes me till this day and a part of my brain still cannot comprehend the the truth of it... but the math is there and it is proven possible.

Serioualy, 300 times a second. The amount of heat generated and the precision required is so fine that even the slightest imbalance in any of the components will cause the engine to implode upon itself. The level of engineer is just so mind boggling. Damn, I love cars.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. MacGyver1968 Fixin' Shit that Ain't Broke Valued Senior Member

I get a woody just thinking about it. They are hands down, the most advanced race engines on the planet. The whole car is made of pure awesome.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Buddha12 Valued Senior Member

What kind do you own?