Evolution and Time

Discussion in 'Biology & Genetics' started by dmac2020, May 13, 2006.

1. dmac2020 Registered Senior Member

Hi.

I wonder if any of you learned people have any idea as to how the dimension of time is incorporated into biology - if it is. It occurred to me - and I'm just a layman - after reading a few popular science books on evolution that time seems to have been the major factor in the evolution of complex organic lifeforms - billlions of years of it. Does this mean that time, in the way that physicists talk about it, is part of our physical biology?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Maast AF E-7 Retired Registered Senior Member

Um, I dont mean to be rude, but thats almost a nonsense question. I once read a quote (dont remember who) that said "Time is just the universe's way of keeping everything from happening at once". Keep in mind that our planet is <b>OLD</b> 4.5 billion years or so.

Now <i>timing</i> is a integral part of our biology, everything works around the speed of chemical reactions or how fast signalling chemicals (hormones, neutotransmitters, etc) move about, and even how to hold us up in a gravity field (which does bend time by a microscopic amount). But nothing like "near the event horizon of a black hole time is almost stopped to an outside observer" or something along those lines.

Now duration and evolution are linked due to the rate that the environmental or stressors mutation rates occur "i.e. on average 1 mutation per 20 mins"

Evolution has progressed very rapidly on Earth in the last third of its existance mainly because once you have the basic parts worked out (nucleated cells, mitochondria, multi-cellular organisms, bones, muscles, brains, nerves, blood, etc) its mainly a matter of shuffling the parts around and increasing or decreasing the size/rate of development of those parts.
    Getting the basic parts worked out took a Loooooooong time.