Ever heard of metabolic myopathy?

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Angelus, Sep 23, 2003.

1. Angelus Daughter Of House Ravenhearte Registered Senior Member

Neither did I, till I learned apparently I have it.

http://www.mdausa.org/publications/Quest/q66metabolic.html

And here everyone thought I was just lazy. The doctors suspected I might have it when I wound up in the hospital a couple months ago due to acute renal failure. Probably caused by the release of massive amounts of creatine kinase into my system. Due to rhabdomyolysis, or muslce breakdown, in english. Fun, fun, eh?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

No, but I have heard of creatine.

I'm not a doctor, but it's obvious that if you're deficient - theres plenty at the health food store. Buy some and you'll feel amazing.

As a young, overweight child, I think I had the opposite. Always tons of explosive energy. I remember going out onto the field with this feeling in my legs and back that's despite everything, they could carry godzilla across in a few second. In class it made me wrestless (especially after a good soccer game in the blizzard.) Good for sprinting (fun kicking everyones ass at that when overweight!) wrestling, or anything else which involved immediate energy. It was probably a result of other physical inactivity and high uptake of proteins..alongside many adolescent hormones. Seriously -- how else do you outsprint everyone with such a fat belly?

Now that I'm average weight and excercise a lot more, my creatine has levelled. I simply cannot sympathize for you. Never experienced anything like it myself. Again, if you want to feel the way I did, buy some creatine. It's no different than buying vitamins and a lot safer.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Angelus Daughter Of House Ravenhearte Registered Senior Member