Cloned meat "safe to eat" in the UK

Discussion in 'Science & Society' started by ULTRA, Dec 14, 2010.

1. ULTRA Realistically Surreal Registered Senior Member

A couple of months ago, cloned meat was deemed safe to eat in the UK after a quantity was let into the food supply "accidentally". Apparantly as there were no obvious ill effects from eating the cloned meat, the government advisors would allow the meat to enter the food supply.

I have a few problems with this. First, when does an "accidental" release qualify as a scientific study? Second, What is the protocol for labelling cloned meat so I can avoid it? And third, why would we want expensive cloned meat when natural meat (free-range) is still cheaper anyway?

I don't even know if this meat has been screened for prion susceptability. As a biologist I don't like it at all and I don't want it being sneaked into my diet thankyou very much. But given the sneakiness of the researchers, will we even get a choise?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. John99 Banned Banned

Why wouldnt it be safe? Its a clone

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. ULTRA Realistically Surreal Registered Senior Member

There are issues with cell super-ageing in the host. I have yet to see anything to assuage fears that this could be indirectly passed on.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Boris2 Valued Senior Member

it is unlikely that cloned meat will be sold for consumption, as you say, it is too expensive. that also is not the idea behind the cloning. you clone proven breeders to produce quality meat, which isn't cloned, to sell to consumers. the consumers then know they are getting quality assured products.

8. John99 Banned Banned

Its like a test tube baby. And they are perfecdtly fine toddlers and grow into perfectly fine adults. I said it before, though i dont eat too much meat at all, that for free they can test it on me any time.