Carpenter forums?

Discussion in 'Architecture & Engineering' started by Xerxes, Apr 1, 2007.

1. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

Do any exist on the web?

I'm starting a big outdoor project and have a few questions for the experts..

-thanks

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Sock puppet path GRRRRRRRRRRRR Valued Senior Member

Maybe I can help Xerxes I've done lots of carpentry since coming to Norway.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Xerxes asdfghjkl Valued Senior Member

I'll take any help you can give!

So basically, I have no knowledge of building things. I'd like to build a cheap, low tech version of this:
    http://www.geodesic-greenhouse-kits.com/

Now.. the dimensions can be figured out, but I'm looking for tips on how to make the structure super sturdy. The main questions right now are:
    Whats the best kind of wood to use?
    Where can you find geodesic joints?
    What tools will I need?
    What noob problems am I bound to encounter?

(yes I could buy the kit but this so much more fun)

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Sock puppet path GRRRRRRRRRRRR Valued Senior Member

You would want to build something like that wouldn't you! I said I could help you with carpentry not some new age geodesic flim flammery!

Looks like the key to that is the geodesic joints, I haven't seen one of them up close but from the photo it looks like they'll give you the proper shape automatically.
    In building a greenhouse you will get lots of condensation so the wood will need to be impregnated to protect against mold and rot.
    The smaller the diameter the thinner the framing material you can use (thinner=cheaper).
    You also have to take into consideration snow and wind which will both put stress on the frame.
    Start by finding out more about the geodesic joints.

8. vslayer Registered Senior Member

i wouldnt use wood myself.

what i would use: