Career in DSP

Discussion in 'Architecture & Engineering' started by areasys, Feb 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. areasys Registered Senior Member

Hi.

I just graduated in December with a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from a prominent Southern California university. For privacy's sake, I won't disclose its name but I will say that its mascot rhymes with "shoo-ins". Anyway, while I was there I took classes on a lot of different topics but the ones I enjoyed the most were the ones on signal processing (DSP, signals and systems, image processing, etc.).

I'd love to get a job in that field but every time I search for DSP related jobs I see several terms in the requirements section that I've never even heard of. When I was in college I studied things like FIR filters, IIR filters, Z-transforms, sampling, etc. But in these job listings I see things like ASIC, FPGA, VHDL, etc.

How can I teach myself these things? I'm taking a few free open courses at MIT on signal processing and I got a few books on college-level DSP exercises for MATLAB, but is that enough? I know I saw a few books on DSP programming in C. Would that do?

In other words, where should I go if I want to get a DSP related job? Do I have to go to grad school?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. superstring01 Moderator

Note: I work in HR. I do executive recruiting and job placement for a living.

I recommend you continue your studies to your masters. It will be time well spent. Even if you're spending money you don't have (i.e. student loans)** and are just TIRED of school, the difference in pay scale, opportunities and access increases significantly in the world of engineering when you go to the graduate level. 18 months will be nothing in comparison to the success you achieve throughout the rest of your life.