Breaking the language learning barrier

Discussion in 'Linguistics' started by jjhlk, Nov 4, 2003.

1. jjhlk Guest

Here is my plea to whoever has become fluent in a language...

How do you break the barrier? By barrier I mean the point at which you can use more complex sentences (though I am interested in being able think in the target language reather than translating all the time). It's easy to learn to use simple sentences. SOV, SVO... any order is easy. Even if you add some prepositions I can learn them easily enough. Learning conjungtions helps, but doesn't increase complexity much. I tend to over analyze I think.

I'm slowly getting more complex, but I'm just learning phrases and their meaning, and not exactly why they mean that. Then I drill a little bit with similar phrases. That helps more than explicitely learning rules.

I have all the media I could ever want. Movies, books, magazines, websites... Written and spoken. I don't have a native speaker, but I should be able to get to the point where I can compose long, complex sentences (reading and writing especially) without actually speaking anything. I do however read aloud all phrases I'm learning so I can say them quickly.

If anybody had a breakthrough about this topic in their studies, do tell.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Iris Registered Senior Member

High school Spanish-speaker here.

Having actual conversations with another person in the language will improve your skills faster than anything else. It doesn't have to be a "native speaker", it can be another student. There's something about having to formulate concepts "on the fly" that speeds up the learning process in a way that simply reciting phrases can never do.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Bruce Wayne . Registered Senior Member

take it one step at a time. when you think you are ready, start reading serious and literary books.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement