Assistance with a simple logic/set based question

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by cjard, Sep 27, 2008.

1. cjard Registered Senior Member

Here are the statements/question:

Some Men are Doctors and,
    Some Doctors are Tall
    Does this mean some Men are Tall?

My answer to this question was Yes, and my working was simplistically set based. Drawing it is Venn diagram style, I make a big box and write "Men" in it. Entirely within the box, I draw a circle, and write "Doctors" in it, and then within that circle i make a smaller circle with "Tall" in it. Within the bounds of the statement and bringing no knowledge about gender/career distribution of the human race into it, I believe I can state that all Doctors are Men

As a software engineer, I create a link between the two statements using the word "Doctors" which I assert is discussing the same set in each statement in the same way that, in a computer program, using the same variable name in the same scope, refers to the same object in memory

Other people have a different approach that essentially relies on the "Doctors" in each statement being a separate set.. They essentially draw two Venns, [Men (Doctors)] and [Doctors (Tall)], or one Venn that has extra elements not discussed, such as Women, and assert that the Doctors group crosses the boundary between Men/Women, of which all the "Tall" group could be entirely on the Women side:
    [Men (Doc|tors(Tall)) Women]

Another guy gave me some predicate logic, upside down A and backwards E etc.. I remembered it vaguely from uni, but his predicates basically said:
    for all X there is an X such that Man(X) and Doctor(X) is true and,
    for all X there is an X such that Doctor(X) and Tall(X) is true

Now, I can see how this leads to an answer of "No" to the "Are some men tall?" question, but I asserted that he had rewritten the original statements:

Some Humans are Male Doctors
    Some Humans are Tall Doctors