Anything divided by 0 is now defined(if I'm right)

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by Muhammad Umer, Feb 14, 2017.

1. Muhammad Umer Registered Member

Im Muhammad Umer from Lahore, Pakistan . I'm a student of O'level and gave a thought to X/0.
    When we say 1/0.1, ans is 10. when we say 1/0.001, ans is 1000. As the denominator gets smaller, our value of ans increases. So when we say 1/0, logically the ans should be ~(infinity), or more appropriately 1x 10^~ (^ = raise to power). Hence, 2/0=2x10^~,
    3/0=3x10^~,
    -1/0=-1x10^~,
    -2/0=-2x10^~ and so on. But a problem arises when we divide 0 by 0.
    First if we all agree that 2/0=2x10^~, multiply both sides by 0, which gives:
    0x2/0=0x(2x10^~). Think 2x10^~ as a very big number, when it is multiplied by 0, ans is 0. But on left side 0 denominator of itselfe:
    2x(0/0)=0, take two on the other side and get 0/0=0,
    or alternatively, assume 0/0=y, 2y=0 and y=0.
    Note that 0/0 is only case in which you cannot simply cut numerator by denominator and you can also not take 0 in denominator as such and have to properly multiply both sides by 0.
    If I'm wrong then kindly point out my mistake and convince me about it too. But if I'm right then I need some help spread the words. Thanks.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. origin Heading towards oblivion Valued Senior Member

This is probably beyond what you have studied, so I think this was a good exercise you have tried.

You are saying that [infinity x 0 = 1] and I do not think anyone can agree with that.

In your example of 1/0.1, it is true that as the denominator approaches 0 the result approaches infinity, but the fraction is undefined when the denominator is 0.

This has to do with the concept of limits. You will learn about these later in your education.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. origin Heading towards oblivion Valued Senior Member

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement