African Languages!

Discussion in 'Linguistics' started by SgtSalamiPants, Apr 14, 2016.

1. SgtSalamiPants Registered Member

I've been learning a click language native to Zimbabwe called Ndebele, for almost a year now. I am A Californian English speaker, and don't have many avenues through which I can access others that take any such interest in the African languages. I would like to know if anyone has anything to say about their thoughts on languages native to Africa, and how they differ from most, and what the sound of each one might say about the cultures they belong to.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Walter L. Wagner Cosmic Truth Seeker Valued Senior Member

African languages have great beauty, as do all languages. I studied Swahili somewhat, and it is very different from the indo-european languages i also studied. the indo-european languages have 'endings' at the ends of the words, allowing adjectives to agree with the nouns they modify by having same/similar endings, verbs to agree with nouns by having endings for singular/plural, etc. these endings can be very complex, as in Latin or Russian; or very diminished as in modern English.

Swahili, on the other hand, has what I call 'beginnings'. The gender or singular/plural for the adjectives and nouns are inserted at the beginning of the word, rather than the ending. That allows for quicker recognition of singular/plural or gender. It is inserted after a preliminary vowel sound, followed by the remainder of the word.

I suspect this distinction arose early in the divergence of languages, though Fraggle might have more on this.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member