A novel approach to artificial heart design

Discussion in 'Chemistry' started by wlminex, Jul 26, 2012.

1. wlminex Banned Banned

Being a geologist, I have long toyed with the idea of utilizing thixotropic (swelling, electrostatic) clays as a media for a novel artificial heart design. I envision that such clay suspensions, contained within an appropriate flexible structural design (e.g., silicone enclosure) would then be subjected to applied electro-stimulation. The electrostatic properties of thixotropic clays are such that stimulation will align the clay platlets within the suspension, resulting in an electro-physical reduction in the suspension volume. Alternating electro-stimulation will induce a volumetric change in the contained suspension, ergo, a 'flexing; of the suspension container. This process might be used as a pumping mechanisim with NO moving parts (only flexing of the container). With properly-engineered inlet and outlet valvular designs applied to a flexible external, but attached,tube, this apparatus could be used to induce fluid (blood) flow (i.e., a pump).

There is little experimental evidence for electro-stimulation applied to thixotropic clay suspensions, however the process seems (to me) to be a feasible research endeavor. Were I younger, I would be pursuing this with vigor. The idea is now yielded to those similarly interested in out-of-the-box, innovative thinking. Any discussion or constructive thoughts?

wlminex

Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Buddha12 Valued Senior Member

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. wlminex Banned Banned