A Day in the Life of a Geek

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by sHaZbOk, Jun 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sHaZbOk Registered Member

hey,
    i want to learn about geeks/nerds or {insert euphemism here}s. If you happen to fall into one of these categories, i'd love for you to tell me your daily routine. I just wanna know what makes you guys tick. Thanks

shazbok

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Ectropic Registered Senior Member

Here we go. First of all I am a web designer/Developer but I do have a girlfriend and I don't live in my parent's basement.

First my roommate slams on my door after he gets out of the shower to wake me up (My alarm has been going off for at least 45 mins by now). I go to weather.com and check out the weather forecast for today so I can pick my clothes. I shower while I listen to a crappy morning show on a classic rock station (My roommate likes it and the shower radio is much to finicky for me to mess with in the AM).

I grab a pop out of the fridge and get in the car for the commute. My roommate and I work in the same building so we carpool. I stare out the window for the entire drive while I wake up. I smoke my first cigarette of the day.

I get to work and I read email, both personal and work. I get started on whatever I need to do that day. Several times I end up walking in and out of the server room to check on projects I am working on.

10:00 AM. Smoke while reading one of the 4 books I am reading. Today's choice is "Small Pieces Loosely Joined" by Weinberger.

I check out Sciforums a couple of time a day, most of the time I check it after my morning break like I am now. Code code code code code...