$500 equipment creates FTL signal

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by Enqrypzion, Sep 19, 2002.

1. Enqrypzion Registered Senior Member

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Adam §Þ@ç€ MØnk€¥ Registered Senior Member

I happen to know, slightly, the former head of Astrophysics at Australia's CSIRO. He was quite happy to tell me that a few experiments, which he described in detail, have transmitted information faster than light (FTL). I don't know, I'm no expert in such things. But he seemed to think the only problems with those experiments were in fiding practical applications and in gaining credibility with the general scientific community.

Sorry, I can't get onto the NS wesbite for some reason.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. (Q) Encephaloid Martini Valued Senior Member

Excerpts from the article of some importance:

While the peak moves faster than light speed, the total energy of the pulse does not. This means Einstein's relativity is preserved, so do not expect super-fast starships or time machines anytime soon.

Electrons usually travel at about two-thirds of light speed in wires, slowed down as they bump into atoms. Hache says it may be possible to send usable electrical signals to near light speed.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Prosoothus Registered Senior Member

How does a peak travel faster than light, even though the energy of the pulse does not???

Doesn't the peak consist of energy????:bugeye:

Tom

8. Enqrypzion Registered Senior Member

it might not, as it is afaik magnetic interference, and apparently interference travels close to instantanuous....

9. Gifted World Wanderer Registered Senior Member

Can you do it between earth and Mars? That's where it gets useful.

10. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member