Relativity.

Discussion in 'Science & Society' started by What is Science?, Oct 27, 2009.

1. What is Science? Registered Member

I'm a layman to the extreme so please feel free to show me just how dumb I really am. My math is pathetic but I feel I'm exceptional with just the theory of things. In any case, I present this very basic situation.

An atom traveling closer and closer towards the true velocity of light would also increase in mass.

Given enough time and speed incremental gain, the atom would appear to be the size of a galaxy or solar system to an outside observer.

The theory of the big bang establishes everything radiated outwards from a specific (maybe) point in space. Starting off as simple particles and molecules, they continue their outward expansion even now. Since their path would have no friction or gravity/pulling forces (lack of better terms), they would never slow down. Assuming they generate their own energy, they would speed up into infinity, never reaching the speed of light but getting close enough (to light speed) to gain exponential mass.

My point being... wouldn't ordinary atoms look like solar systems (or more) from our vantage point in space? Obviously they would have to be outside of our current system (and speed) in order to appear this way.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Dywyddyr Penguinaciously duckalicious. Valued Senior Member

It increases in mass, not size.
    And decreases in length.

Only if solar systems were of zero or nearly zero thickness (in the direction of travel) and very small in radius.

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. What is Science? Registered Member

Wouldn't it have to increase in size if it also increased in mass? Or does the object just become a super heavy(mass) same-sized object? I'm confused.