matrix sorting problem

Discussion in 'Computer Science & Culture' started by Fallen Angel, May 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fallen Angel life in every breath Registered Senior Member

EDIT: see few posts below for clarification of this problem statement

Here's a problem I've been laboring over on and off for a few years now. Perhaps you peoples can shed some insight.

The goal is to sort a matrix of 1s and 0s so all the 1s are on the diagonal.
    example..

start with something like:

0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1
    1 0 1 1 0 0 1 0
    0 1 1 0 0 1 0 1
    0 1 1 1 0 1 1 0
    0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1
    0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
    1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0

and end up with something to the effect of:

1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0
    1 0 1 1 0 0 1 0
    0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0
    0 1 1 0 1 0 0 1
    0 1 1 1 0 1 1 0
    0 1 1 1 0 1 1 0
    0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1

The trick is to do it in nonexponential time. And most preferable in linear time.
    Basically O(n). If anyone knows of a published work that addresses this problem, or if you know of an algorithm to solve this, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: May 13, 2004
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Fallen Angel life in every breath Registered Senior Member

sorry bout that.. but the font turned out bad on the matrices.. but you get what i mean

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. malkiri Registered Senior Member

You might want to give a more specific statement of the problem. My first reaction is to use dynamic programming. It's not my strongest area, so I'll have to think about how to structure it. What complexity is the brute force approach?

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Blindman Valued Senior Member

Ill assume that every column has at least one 1 else there is no solution..