Snowball Earth

Discussion in 'Earth Science' started by wesmorris, May 3, 2004.

1. wesmorris Nerd Overlord - we(s):1 of N Valued Senior Member

I saw a really interesting doodad on The Science Channel the other day about how there is very strong evidence to support the theory that the entire planet was frozen over for approximately 10 million years about 600 or 700 million years ago. It was a crazy story, but the evidence seemed pretty convincing. I'm not much of an earth sciences guy but that whole story is fascinating.

Here's a link:

http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?articleID=00027B74-C59A-1C75-9B81809EC588EF21

Have you heard about it? What do you think?

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. tablariddim forexU2 Valued Senior Member

Interesting link. Not being a scientist, I would say that anything is possible.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Mr. Chips Banned Banned

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. eburacum45 Valued Senior Member

8. Starthane Xyzth returns occasionally... Valued Senior Member

It is a compelling and dramatic theory, which one feels a desire to believe in. There are doubts, though: for one thing, the occasional large impact would have vapourised vast quantities of ice and produced a water vapour layer in the atmosphere, which would itself provide a considerable greenhouse effect and melt more ice. Objects up to 1 km across probably strike the Earth every 100,000 years on average, so a global whiteout might not have been able to last as long as the theory states.

9. Mr. Chips Banned Banned