Some simple questions in theoretical physics

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by jnc1110, May 29, 2009.

1. jnc1110 Registered Senior Member

First and foremost, let me say that I am no physics major. I'm just an undergrad on summer vacation with a lot of thinking time on my hands. This topic may be irrelevant to conventional physics but I feel it can be explained through theoretical physics.

If positive energy (matter) is derrived from negative energy (space), then where does spatia originate? Under what conditions can you get something from nothing? With relgion and the Big Bang Theory aside, how can the evolution of matter be explained?

Any insights would be fantastic!!

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member

Where did you get the idea that space is a form of negative energy? Space is not a substance or a type of energy.

Have you heard of quantum fluctuations of the vacuum? What happens there is that in "empty" space the universe can spontaneously create pairs of particles by "borrowing" energy from nothing for a (very) short period of time (determined by Heisenberg's uncertainty principle). That energy is "paid back" when the particle annihilate each other again, returning the net energy of the system to zero.

Is this the kind of thing you want to know about?

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Acitnoids Registered Senior Member

Didn't Stephen Hawking use this mechanism to show that a black hole will evaporate over time threw Hawking radiation? This means information can still escape the event horizon by way of heat (black body) or am I confusing two different things?

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. James R Just this guy, you know? Staff Member

You're right, Acitnoids.

8. prometheus viva voce! Registered Senior Member