Interesting idea tying Gravity and Dark Matter together

Discussion in 'Astronomy, Exobiology, & Cosmology' started by goose, Oct 13, 2008.

1. goose Registered Senior Member

FIRST... LET ME SAY... this "idea" is nothing more than an interesting idea that i came up with, (probably has been thought of before, but i havent found a place where it has been recorded). I am not saying that this is backed by anyone but myself, and since i am only in my second year in college studying astrophysics, i am probably way outside the rules of some law somewhere...

with that said, let me begin

In my idea/theory, i want to begin by saying that i believe gravity to be a little part of every partical, (all matter, anti-matter, anything with a value of anything). Lets say this gravity section basically has a negative mass (not exactly negative, but it takes away some of the mass of the particle), which makes the particle seem to have less mass than it actually does. This could account for some (not all) of the "missing mass" in space, known as dark matter.

Again, this is just a fun idea, an idea i made up one night when i was trying to go to sleep

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

And i need feedback on why this is impossible

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Steve100 O͓͍̯̬̯̙͈̟̥̳̩͒̆̿ͬ̑̀̓̿͋ͬ ̙̳ͅ ̫̪̳͔O Valued Senior Member

The only reason we come up with the idea of dark matter is that there is too much gravity for the amount of mass we can see.

This isn't going to help solve that problem.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. goose Registered Senior Member

but because of that gravity, what im suggesting is that it actually takes away from the mass that we can see... so if you take away gravity there would actually be more mass

does that make sense?
    I think i may have phrased it wrong in what i first put