Most interesting physics, The EPR Paradox

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by Cazzo, May 10, 2008.

1. Cazzo Registered Senior Member

I'm not an expert at physics, but this is the most profoundly interesting thing I've heard of in physics : The EPR Paradox

From the article linked :
    "The EPR paradox draws on a phenomenon predicted by quantum mechanics, known as quantum entanglement, to show that measurements performed on spatially separated parts of a quantum system can apparently have an instantaneous influence on one another. This effect is now known as "nonlocal behavior" (or colloquially as "quantum weirdness" or "spooky action at a distance"). In order to illustrate this, let us consider a simplified version of the EPR thought experiment put forth by David Bohm."...

So basically, it sounds like entangled quanta can instantaneously "communicate" with each other; when one's acted on -> the other one reacts instantly, no matter how far apart they are. Right ?

Could one extract from this "non locality" that the universe exhibits a reality which implys EVERYTHING is actually in one spot, and distance is an illusion ?

The only other way I could think of explaining it is if the universe is being run by something like a (very advanced) computer program. The 4D universe is the program running, and the code behind it could have objects any distance effect one another instantaneously. :shrug:

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. BenTheMan Dr. of Physics, Prof. of Love Valued Senior Member

Wrong. Sorry.

The idea is that the entangled particles live on the same waefunction. The wavefunction itself carries no ``information''. So the idea of two ends of the wavefunction communicating is not right---there can be no exchange of information because there IS no information.