health insurance help

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Spaazkaz, Aug 20, 2007.

1. Spaazkaz anti-religious spiritual type Registered Senior Member

I recently graduated from a community college. when i was a full time student i was covered under my moms insurance. Now i am out of school and have no money. Health insurance is costing about 500 a month. My family is struggling to help me pay it and i feel guilty as it should be my responsibility. The advice i get from most people is to just take the chance and go off the insurance either until I go back to school or get a job with benefits. I dont because insurance is very comforting to me and my mom is also quite adamant that i have it; id like to help us both out. I have tried applying for medicare but somehow making under 200 a week with 800 rent i didn't qualify. Does anyone have any experience with a good cheap insurance company for people like me? I am in upstate new york. Thanks much in advance.

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. cosmictraveler Be kind to yourself always. Valued Senior Member

You can't get medicare so why did you apply?

If you're paying out more than taking in that means your mom is helping you out with the rest of the money. Why not just grow up and get a job, find a place for 50.00 a week and let mom off the hook! That way you will solve all your problems for usually where you work they give you insurance, by law they have to.

4. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  5. Mickmeister Registered Senior Member

Have you tried Blue Cross Blue Shield for an individual policy? It sounds like you are paying COBRA rates. I have my own individual policy from BCBS and pay $145 per month.

It amazes me at how few people know that individual policies exist.

6. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  7. Spaazkaz anti-religious spiritual type Registered Senior Member