European and East Asian languages

Discussion in 'Art & Culture' started by francois, Feb 8, 2007.

1. francois Schwat? Registered Senior Member

I’ve been teaching myself Mandarin on CD for about two months now. So I’m by no means fluent, nor an expert. However, I think I’ve learned enough about the language to make a few generalizations.

To me, Mandarin seems very stripped down and very simple. I can speak a little German and French—although I am by no means fluent. But I know enough about these languages to successful bullshit myself through France or Germany. I know a lot of words and I know the basic grammar of those languages. I just haven’t had much real practice and I would likely be very rusty and poorly spoken in real conversations. Based on what I so far know about Mandarin, it is very different from the European languages. It is much simpler.

For example, it appears the Chinese do not conjugate their verbs. I do not know how to write or read Chinese calligraphy, but I can tell you that the word for “to be” is the same in all contexts. It is always the same. Whereas, in English it changes from I am, to you are, to he is. In German it’s Ich bin, du bist, er ist. In French it’s Je suis, vous êtes, il est. Always the same word in Mandarin though. I haven’t gotten yet to tenses. I’m not yet sure how they talk about the future and the past. Am, are, is. They have one word, one sound—one syllable for these words.

They don’t even have universal words for “yes” and “no.” If you ask someone “Do you know how to speak Mandarin?” in Mandarin, they will answer, literally translated, “Know [as in, I know how to speak Mandarin].” If you ask someone “Are you Chinese?” in Mandarin, they will answer, “Am [as in, am Chinese].”