(Alpha) String Theory Questions

Discussion in 'Physics & Math' started by BenTheMan, Jan 20, 2007.

1. BenTheMan Dr. of Physics, Prof. of Love Valued Senior Member

I want to start this thread so that yall can ask questions about String Theory, if anyone happens to be interested.

I really don't want to defend String Theory from a bunch of random assaults---I will admit fully that String Theory has some very open issues at the moment, and that a growing number of physicists take issue with String Theory. The main reason for this request is that I don't understand the other quantum gravity scenarios that well, and don't really feel comfortable commenting on them.

I have been studying string theory for about two years, specifically the heterotic string (which probably is meaningless to most people). Hopefully I will not make too big a fool of myself in attempting to answer these questions. I will probably not be able to answer all questions, but if there is something that you are interested in asking, perhaps I can give you some ideas about what String Theory says. I will do my best to attempt to answer any questions, including consulting with my colleagues here at OSU.

If yall want a reading list, I would suggest starting with Brian Greene's "Elegant Uiverse". A more general perspective is found in Lee Smolin's "Three Roads to Quantum Gravity", which also explains the Loop Quantum Gravity proposal, as well as other older approaches.

Anyway, I will answer all the questions that I can as long as people ask them. I ask again that we try to stick to questions about String Theory. I am not very familiar with Loop Quantum Gravity, probably the largest competitor to String Theory---think Google and Ask. Strings has a large market share, but Ask has an ambitious business plan

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

It is my hope to generate at least some discussion---I hope this thread doesn't die right away, at least

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement