Go

Discussion in 'Free Thoughts' started by Avatar, Jun 19, 2006.

1. Avatar smoking revolver Valued Senior Member

I've known about Go for some time now, but only today tried it against a computer opponent (QGo) and I'm already loving it. So much possibilities... So much better than chess.

So.. any strategies someone here is willing to share?

Please Register or Log in to view the hidden image!

Last edited: Jun 19, 2006
  2. Guest Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Fraggle Rocker Staff Member

I've been playing for 40 years. Welcome to the community!

As you pointed out, go seems to be a richer game than chess. The structure is much simpler but it leads to far more complex situations. Because of this, computer programs don't play very well. They've been working on go software for as long as they've been working on chess software. Forty years ago there was a million dollar prize waiting for the first program that could simply understand the rules--make only legal moves, not kill its own stones, and stop playing when the game was obviously finished. It took about twenty years before somebody collected, at which time toy chess computers could beat the average social player. Now that a chess program has won at least one game against a world champion-caliber player, the best go programs are barely strong enough to give me a good game.

My point is that playing against software is not a good way to learn more than the basics. They're good at tactics and will demolish your groups if you're not good at making two eyes. They're very good at deciding which of two decent-looking moves will have a greater impact on the score. But they have no sense of strategy. When you get past the point of wondering which move will keep a totally surrounded group from dying, you'll find that they lead you off into quixotic battles that no human player would pursue, for the very good reason that you can make more territory more safely by doing something else.