05-23-06, 04:41 PM #1
MSN question about completely deleting contacts
Is it possible to completely delete a contact from one's MSN?
Namely, if I delete a contact from my list of contacts in the MSN main window, I have found that in the menu under
Tools > Options > Privacy
those contacts are still there, and cannot be deleted.
Thanks for your input.
Last edited by water; 05-23-06 at 05:07 PM.
05-23-06, 09:50 PM #2
i was going to try to help, but i looked in my privacy options and people i haven't spoken to in years and that i deleted years ago are still there. i am stumped myself. the only thing i came up with is those that you delete that are still in the allow box maybe haven't deleted you. when you delete a blocked person, they remain blocked and cannot see you. when you just delete, they can still see you online. of course this is probably the kind of information you already had. sorry that i can't be more helpful. *wanders off to google it*
though it doesn't address the exact issue, i believe my premonition is right that you are still on theirs since it mentions how you can monitor who will know you're online.
Last edited by Winner of Discontent; 05-23-06 at 09:56 PM.
05-24-06, 02:39 PM #3
Originally Posted by water
They're downloaded from a list on the MSN server so the same effect results whatever client program happens to be used to communicate.
The actual MSN protocols are detailed on this page:
It may be irritating to see a handle remain as a blocked user but because of this you are in effect more removed from the object of disaffection. A mutually deleted entry would still be able to seek to contact.
05-25-06, 02:56 AM #4
Thank you for your input.
I have just tried out something -- In the Tools > Options > Privacy list of contacts, on the left side list with contacts allowed to see me online (all of them are not visible in my main window though),
I placed some of those on the list of blocked contacts. And from there, some contacts could be deleted completely!
Hm. It appears if both parties set each other on the blocked list, then such a contact is deletable.
05-25-06, 09:13 AM #5
Originally Posted by water
With a complete deletion though the trouble would then be that the person deleted is completely deleted, i.e. free to initiate another MSN contact procedure from scratch, even with the same e-mail handle previously employed.
05-26-06, 07:11 AM #6Hm. It appears if both parties set each other on the blocked list, then such a contact is deletable.
05-27-06, 06:48 AM #7Originally Posted by Jenyar
It appears it was you who put me on the blocked list first.
05-28-06, 08:23 AM #8
No, you weren't able to remove me until I blocked you. I only did that after Perplexity told me about this thread of yours.
06-06-06, 08:09 AM #9Originally Posted by Jenyar
Until I posted this thread and the subsequent findings, I did not know whether it was possible to delete contacts or what it takes to delete them.
This is why I posted this thread -- to find out what it takes to delete a contact.
I could not have asked you anything in this regard, because I did not have the information necessary to ask the pertinent question.
06-08-06, 01:07 AM #10
01-19-10, 04:26 PM #11
I came accross this while trying to find an answer to why I could delete some contacts but not others and I think I may have found an answer.
Below (where it says "Contact Lists") you can view a list of who has added you to their contact lists. I found these same people I couldn't delete. So it appears you can delete the people you add, but not the people who add you.
I've double-checked and all the people who were on the list of people who added me, I couldn't delete and the people who weren't on this list (thus people I added) I could.
Hope that helps
Last edited by icantthinkofaname; 01-19-10 at 04:28 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake